How to setup a Virtual Server on your WiFi Router


Most modern routers comes with a built-in virtual server option which allows to define a single public port on the router for redirection to an internal address called IP LAN and private LAN port. This feature is useful for hosting online services such as FTP, VoIP Servers, Printer Servers or Web servers. In other words, and with a more practical sense, basically what you do is open holes (ports) in the firewall to allow the correct IP routing requests that are made to the router.

We will take as an example a router D-LINK DIR-505 model

Step 1: Login to the router, typing the gateway IP address (typically 192.168.0.1)

 

Step 2: Once we have logged in we must go to 'Advanced' tab

 

Step 3: The first page we found is virtual server configuration, there we can configure up to 8 virtual servers (DIR-505 model), select the 'Application Name' drop-down menu to get a list of predefined server types. If we select one of the predefined server types, must click the arrow button next to the drop-down menu to fill the field.

 

Step 4: We can select a computer from the list of DHCP clients in the Computer Name drop down menu, or  manually enter the IP address of the computer at which we are going to open the specified port.

 

Step 5: Setup the ports, there are two types of ports:

  • Private Port.
        The port that will be used on the internal network.
  • Public Port.
        The port that will be accessed from the Internet.

For example, if our ISP have blocked the port 80 we need to configure another 'unblocked' port, as port 8888, using the port 80 as private port and the port 8888 as public port. With this Virtual Server entry, all Internet traffic on Port 8888 will be redirected to your internal web server on port 80 at IP Address 192.168.0.1.

Step 6: Select the protocol used by the service. Can use UDP, TCP or both.  To specify any other protocol, select "Other" from the list, then enter the corresponding protocol number in the Protocol box.

Step 7: Check the left box to activate or deactivate the entries and click the 'save settings' button.